"I am very grateful to you and the school for getting the best out of me."


The Academy Trust has a structure for up to 15 governors who are directors of the academy and trustees of the charity. These are made up of up to 4 governors appointed by members, up to 4 parent governors who are elected, up to 3 co-opted governors, 2 staff governors and the headteacher. Governors serve a term of office for 4 years when they can be either re-appointed or re-elected. There are currently 3 members: Mr J Chappelle, Mr S Fry and Mrs J Thornalley Oliver.

The governors meet once per term at 6.00 pm (6 meetings in total). At the October meeting a chairperson and vice-chairperson for the forthcoming year are elected. In addition, a Finance Committee meets 6 times per year with delegated power from the governors to exercising the powers and duties of the Governing Body in respect of the financial administration of the Academy.

The governors may have to establish an Admissions Committee to determine the criteria for admitting pupils to the school, a Discipline Committee to decide on pupil exclusions and a Staff Disciplinary Committee to consider any staff disciplinary matters and hear grievances. All of these also require appeals panels of different governors to adjudicate where appeals are made against the decisions of the initial committees. At least one governor usually sits on any appointments panel.

In a Selective Academy the governors are corporately the academy's employers. They are accountable to the government for the good management of the school and have important responsibilities to oversee the school's finances. Governors support the work of headteacher and senior leadership team and offer overall guidance in appropriate areas. They are volunteers who bring to the school a range of individual skills and experience. Their role is one of overseeing the work of the school. From their relatively detached perspective they can weigh up the school's strengths and weaknesses. Thus they can assist the leadership team in developing the broad aims of the school and in strategic planning for future development, as well as in reviewing progress.

The governors like to be acquainted with the work of the school and welcome opportunities to meet staff. We invite them to all major school occasions and often to social events. They are community representatives who are keen to support the school and promote its aims.

Mr J Gatenby (Chair)
Mrs J Barker (Vice-Chair)
Mr G Thompson
Member Appointed and Co-opted Governors
Mr J Gatenby
Mrs J Porter-Robinson
Mr D Pridgeon
Miss K Ratcliffe
Parent Governors
Mrs J Barker
Mr P Rigarlsford
Mr B Woodroffe
Staff Governors
Mr G Claxton
Mrs K Reyes
Eliza Taylor (Head Student)
Acting Clerk to Governors
Mrs A Duff

Accounts 2016
Accounts 2017
Accounts 2018
Accounts 2019
Accounts 2020
Accounts 2021
Articles of Association
Attendance 2017-18
Attendance 2018-19
Attendance 2019-20
Attendance 2020-21
Attendance 2021-22
Committee Structure
Funding Agreement
Governor Pecuniary Interests 2020-21
Governor Pecuniary Interests 2021-22
Link Governors
Memorandum of Association
Structure Members & Board of Governors
Terms of Office - Current Members and Governors
Terms of Office - Former Members and Governors